A Review of the First Two Episodes Of 'The Orville' Season 2

Updated on February 2, 2019
Guckenberger profile image

Alexander is a lifelong viewer of videos and media pertaining to the Stars Wars, Doctor Who, Star Trek, and additional movie franchises.

Source

'The Orville' Is Awesome!

To those of you who don't already know, 'The Orville' is a new science fiction television series that is already loved by fans and watched by millions of viewers. The first season blew me away! Watching the first season made me wonder why Seth Macfarlane wasn't placed at the head of the newest 'Star Trek' series. 'The Orville' feels to me like a bolder version of 'Star Trek: The Next Generation'. The new science fiction series includes the works of famous actors, such as the voice talents of Norm Macdonald! Fortunately, Norm Macdonald has come back for season 2 of the show. Seth has returned as well for the much desired second season! 'The Orville' is fantastic to watch, even without sound. Of course, I never would plan to view the show without sound, but the point is that the visual appearance of the series is great. The special effects are wonderful and extraordinary!

Well, we both know we're good at our jobs. And yet, we also seem to be the only two people who are haunted by this little voice that's always whispering that we don't really deserve to be here. And we're both alcoholics.

— Episode 1: 'Ja'loja'

The First Episode

The first episode of season 2, titled 'Ja'loja' was not the best episode in the show's history. That being stated, I'd still prefer to watch it than most modern television. Still, it seemed a bit lacking for a series of this caliber. Nevertheless, it is a good episode to bring viewers back into the mood and the atmosphere of 'The Orville'. The acting persists to be terrific by long time actors like Seth. Peter Macon, who plays the character Lieutenant Commander Bortus, also does a fantastic job.

Did you watch the first season of 'The Orville'?

See results

I can't state that every acted scene is perfect, but sometimes some lack does add to the overall charm of the show. The variation in character personalities continues to be something that is extraordinarily good for 2019 television. Not all of the characters are completely unique in their personalities, but the development of each person's identity as an individual is incredibly well done in comparison to most works of the era of moving pictures. I was a little sad not to note the voice acting skills of Norm Macdonald in this first episode, but don't worry; he is still involved in this season! The initial episode serves great as a reintroduction to the show. And, as that is what is intended to do, I cannot fault it for that.

Official Trailer

The Second Episode

This is by far one of the best episodes of any show I have seen in a long time; it may be one of the greatest television episodes I have ever seen in 28 years of life! That is not an exaggeration; this episode was amazing, bizarre, and hilarious. Even an hour of this may not have been enough.

Whereas many of the episodes of the first season of 'The Orville' were fun for their scientific and philosophic ponderings, this episode was incredible on so many levels. By the way, this second episode is called 'Primal Urges'. Let that sink in. Can you guess what the episode is about? It's a pretty crazy one, and I love it so much. Not only is this episode funny, but the story here is very well written and performed. I admire Peter Macon's acting skills, and Seth MacFarlane's ability to do far above average while working in scifi. I will not give too many spoilers, and perhaps you will be as shocked as I was!

The penchant for biological lifeforms to anthropomorphize inanimate objects is irrational. I am quite certain the planet is unaware of its solitary status.

— Episode 2: 'Primal Urges'

Conclusion

The first two episodes of the new season definitely deserve five stars! Perhaps some of you will think that I am being too generous here with my ratings, but I honestly feel as though 'The Orville' has been doing great! I hope that this show continues to surprise and to enchant us, the audience. What do you all think? Do you agree with me? Disagree with me? Have you seen any episodes of the show? Please let me know in the comments below so we can start a conversation!

Source
5 stars for 'The Orville' Season 2, Episodes 1 & 2

Questions & Answers

  • Is there a site where I could watch missed episodes of The Orville?

    The official Fox website has a number of episodes that can be free to watch with ads. Here is a link:

    https://www.fox.com/the-orville/

© 2019 Alexander James Guckenberger

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I'd really appreciate it! Keep me up to date. :D

    • Eastward profile image

      Eastward 

      9 months ago from Bangkok, Thailand

      You're most welcome. I'll let you know if I come across any other sci-fi gems!

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I saw the movie when I was a kid. There's a lot of science fiction that I didn't know about. Thanks for the heads up! :)

    • Eastward profile image

      Eastward 

      9 months ago from Bangkok, Thailand

      I think I missed the 'Lost in Space' movie. I'll have to check it out (hope it's better than the ratings show). I'm not sure I have anything to recommend you might have missed. I've enjoyed Stranger Things for nostalgia and Westworld for musing on the future of AI. Humans and Black Mirror had their moments as well.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Eastward, I will definitely look into it. Good writing is essential. Did you ever see the 1998 'Lost in Space' movie? Any more suggestions?

    • Eastward profile image

      Eastward 

      9 months ago from Bangkok, Thailand

      There was a 2018 Netflix reboot of 'Lost in Space' and the first season was worth a watch. The concept surrounding "The Robot" was particularly interesting but I'm hoping for a little stronger writing in season 2. As for 'Altered Carbon' (also a Netflix series), it's a cyberpunk show set in a future where people can store memories and switch bodies to avoid death. There are some nice social commentary aspects showing the differences in what the elites and the poor can afford when it comes to bodies/"sleeves".

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I can't wait to see Picard come back! Was there a reboot of 'Lost in Space' or are you referring to the show from back in the day? What's 'Altered Carbon' like?

    • Eastward profile image

      Eastward 

      9 months ago from Bangkok, Thailand

      The depth was a very welcome surprise to me as well. I also have enjoyed watching Altered Carbon, Lost in Space, and Star Trek Discovery recently (also looking forward to the return of Picard!).

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I like the depth though. Eastward, have you been watching any other science fiction shows lately? O.O

    • Eastward profile image

      Eastward 

      9 months ago from Bangkok, Thailand

      Really enjoying this series so far! It's a far cry from what I expected at first. I was anticipating a lot of randomness but instead the show seems to carry a level of reverent depth.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I love magic shows. ^_^

    • LADS Family profile image

      The Sampsons 

      9 months ago from The Ozarks, Missouri

      He was a magic act. Jon? John? Like-able fellow and very good, too.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I didn't see the football player; I should look it up!

    • LADS Family profile image

      The Sampsons 

      9 months ago from The Ozarks, Missouri

      Hard to say, have not seen this week's yet - recorded.

      I must say that Susan Boyle and Phil Potts (?) are just the epitome of finding talent hidden among the masses.

      And that fellow that used to be a football player and is now a magician that levitated Heidi. I like him as a person and also his act.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I don't like the attacks on the Christian religion either. I'm very devout and give more than 10% of my earnings to the church. I a'int perfect, but the disrespect does get to me sometimes too.

      'America's Got Talent' is awesome! What are your favorite moments?

    • LADS Family profile image

      The Sampsons 

      9 months ago from The Ozarks, Missouri

      Not many. I do think Big Bang theory is well-written and the cast is perfect, although I do object to their slams against Christianity that occur from time to time. Seems to be a popular theme in today's world.

      Other than that, the current run of America's Got Talent, and Homicide Hunter Lieutenant Kenda is about it. I guess I don't watch much tv.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      9 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I agree that the science fiction element makes it awesome. The characters really do grow on you. What other shows have you watched recently?

    • LADS Family profile image

      The Sampsons 

      9 months ago from The Ozarks, Missouri

      This is the funniest show to come along in some time!! I have missed squirrelly shows like Psych, Castle, and other farcey shows. And being Sci-Fi is all the better.

      If you do watch, you need to leave your sensitivity meters at the door. Some broad group gets jousted every 10 minutes and even really serious subjects are just funny in this series. Somehow they make it work.

      The first episode I happened across last year, I deemed the whole series as unworthy. But as you follow the characters and personalities the whole thing is a real hoot.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, reelrundown.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://reelrundown.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)