Skip to main content

Netflix Announces They’ll Soon Be Charging for Additional Account Users and People Are Furious

“What’s the point?”

Remember when Netflix sent you DVDs in the mail? Well the times, they keep on a-changin'. The streaming giant announced on Tuesday that they will now charge users who share their username and passwords. And yep, people on the internet definitely had feelings about this one. 

The change comes after a piloted program the company rolled out in Latin America, Unilad reports. Netflix will now charge subscribers for an "extra users" on their account — i.e. anyone outside of your household who is trying to use your account. 

“After listening to consumer feedback, we are going to offer the ability for borrowers to transfer their Netflix profile into their own account, and for sharers to manage their devices more easily and to create sub-accounts ('extra member'), if they want to pay for family or friends," the company explained in quarterly earnings report. 

“In countries with our lower-priced ad-supported plan, we expect the profile transfer option for borrowers to be especially popular," they added.

This is bad news for many Netflix subscribers, or as one person on Twitter pointed out, could make things difficult if you're trying to use even your own subscription while outside your home. 

"So you can no longer watch Netflix while traveling, at work, at a friend's house?" @LadyArwenEvnStr wondered. "What is the point if you are locked to your home, might as well have cable. For the record I already canceled Netflix awhile ago, this surely won't bring me back," they added. 

And many other people online criticized the move too. "Netflix clearly has much deeper problems. This won't get them anywhere close to a fix," one person argued. "I don't think thats gonna work as they have no physical presence and is basically an app so our household is basically wherever we decide to open that app," someone else explained. "So I have to pay more because I’m watching MY Netflix account outside my house? Wtf," a third commenter complained. 

According to Unilad, Netflix has yet to announce how much they will charge users caught sharing their accounts or signing into their account if not in their own "home", but it's believed to be about £1.75 extra per month, or about $3 or $4 USD. The plan is slated to roll out in the US in 2023.