The Birds (1963) Film Review

Updated on July 24, 2018
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Actor
Character
Jessica Tandy
Lydia Brenner
Rod Taylor
Mitchell 'Mitch' Brenner
Veronica Cartwright
Cathy Brenner
Tippi Hedren
Melanie Daniels
Suzanne Pleshette
Annie Hayworth

About the film

Producer: Alfred Hitchcock

Director: Alfred Hitchock

Running time: 1 hr 59 mins

Genre: Drama, Mystery, Horror

Budget: $2,500,000

Distributed by: Universal Pictures


About the film

This film is based on the book of the same name written by Daphne du Maurier. Melanie is a rich socialite who is in San Francisco. She is in a bird shop wanting to purchase a bird when lawyer Mitch walks in. He mistakenly thinks she's a saleswoman and tries to buy 2 love birds from her. In reality, he knows who she is. He had previously seen her in court and knows how she loves to play pranks. He's really flirting with her. She eventually gets to know Mitch and his family - she even befriends his ex girlfriend, Annie. When she spends the night round Annie's, she hears a thud and notices a seagull had killed itself flying into the front door.

It is soon after this that a flock of ravens gets into the Brenner household through the chimney. It is then the seagulls attack. The town can't understand what is going on as the gulls start attacking people and even killing them. Now that the town is flooded with seagulls and ravens, how does the townsfolk deal with these creatures? It is a mystery as to why these birds have descended on the town and starting attacking people. To add further to the mysterious arrival, crows are also amongst the birds terrifying and maiming people.

The film runs for about 45 minutes before we get to any actual horror bits. I think this is deliberate to build the suspense and get a sense of the story. How will the towns people cope with all these birds?

My thoughts

I've watched this film several times over the years, but still enjoy watching it. Alfred Hitchock was a genius when it comes to making films, and The Birds is by no means any exception. You can understand why people have such a fear of birds. Why the birds have come to this small, sleepy town, is bewildering. But there they are. With Melanie's arrival in the town, so did the birds it seems. One woman even blames her for the flock arriving.

There are scenes which are truly horrid to see, especially when you see the birds attacking people. Even more scary, they can, and do, kill. The way the film is shot is cleverly done with close up shots of the seagulls and all the crows sitting on the telephone wires. What I like about this film is you've got the romantic side of the story with the love interest between Melanie and Mitch. Plus the horror element with the birds, and people trying to protect themselves from these creatures. I wonder what people thought when Hitchock first came up with the idea of making a film of the book? Making a film of killer birds must have seems ridiculous at the time. But with a name like Alfred Hitchcock behind it, you can more or less guarantee that the film will be a winner.

The actors who play Melanie and Mitch work well together, and their on screen chemistry can be seen throughout the film. I like the idea of 2 people, who seem worlds apart, to grow fond of each other. As I said, for the first 45 minutes or so, there's no real horror element to the film. But once it does start, it comes in leaps and bounds. It can send chills down your spine just watching how these birds attack. There is no music as such in the film, and none is needed. With a lot of films music helps to set the scene and lure people into the dark and scary side of the film. But I think with this film, it is so well shot that just by watching it can make your hairs stand up on end.

As to why the birds suddenly descended upon the town is never revealed. But for Hitchocks 49th film, this will most certainly give people the creeps, even after all these years.

The Birds Film Trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      2 weeks ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Seems quite a suspense thriller from "The Master of Suspense". Hitchcock, I would say, reigns supreme at this even to this day. Your review makes me want to see this film.

      Unfortunately, I could not watch the trailer as it is blocked in my country.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Talal.

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 

      2 weeks ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Hitchcock was dubbed "The Master of Suspense" for good reason -- which you have outlined so well in your review of this film. He knew how to balance the psychological fears -- that anticipation with imminent danger and horror to great effect. I remember how so many of his sets/scenes seemed to be immaculate, much like how the women were dressed. There was no one like him, and there will never be another film like The Birds.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      2 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      I Hitchcock but have never seen this film. Thanks for the review. I'm that I won't be disappointed when I watch it.

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      2 weeks ago from Queensland Australia

      I have seen this film so many times over the years, and it will always remain my favourite Hitchcock, and a real cult classic. Thank you for bringing back memories of this movie. Oh, Rod Taylor was an Aussie actor too. Also starred in the original Time Machine.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      2 weeks ago from USA

      I’ve never seen this, but with your review now I want to. Alfred Hitchock was fabulous.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      2 weeks ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I really must watch this film now that I've read your review. I want to read the book, too. I've heard about the film many times and seen clips from it, but I've never watched the whole movie. I didn't realize that the birds' behaviour is never explained.

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 

      2 weeks ago from Houston, TX USA

      Thanks for the plot summary. I never did understand it. Keep in mind that birds are Avian Dinosaurs! It was a dinosaur uprising.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Mike, thankyou for the lovely comment.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes I agree Penny. I think Hitchcock was a genius. =)

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Me too Lori, it's a great film.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      2 weeks ago from Pacific Northwest

      One of Hitchcocks best. Seen it a bazillion times.

    • Penny Sebring profile image

      Penny Sebring 

      2 weeks ago from Fort Collins

      I've loved this movie for decades, in part because we never do find out why it starts or stops.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      2 weeks ago from Ontario, Canada

      I have watched this movie several times, too. Hitchcock is indeed a genius but I have to admit, I got scared after that when I see a big group of birds.

    • Readmikenow profile image

      Readmikenow 

      2 weeks ago

      I watched this movie more than once. I think it is an excellent film. Considering the film making technology available at the time, it is very good. I looked at groups of flying birds completely different after watching that movie. I enjoyed reading this article.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, reelrundown.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://reelrundown.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)