'Ip Man 3' Review

Updated on August 22, 2019
NessMovieReviews profile image

Asian horror is becoming on trend. I am a big fan and find the cultural accents a breath of fresh air. I will recommend some for you.

Ip Man 3 2015 #IpMan
Ip Man 3 2015 #IpMan | Source

Quick Film Information 

Director: Wilson Yip.

Writer: Tai-lee Chan, Lai-Yin Leung, and Edmond Wong.

Starring: Donny Yen, Lynn Xiong, Jin Zhang, and Mike Tyson.

Released: Premiered in Hong Kong, December 2015. USA and Au January 2016.

Donny Yen stars as Ip Man in Ip Man 3
Donny Yen stars as Ip Man in Ip Man 3 | Source

Storyline

Set in 1959, Ip Man lives in Hong Kong with his son and wife. Property developer Frank, played by Mike Tyson wants the land where the school currently sits. He will do anything in his power to take it. Ip Man's young son goes to the school so he must try and protect it from the thugs that keep on coming. When Ip Man's wife is diagnosed with a terminal illness, he is challenged for his title as Wing Chun Grandmaster.


Mike Tyson stars as Frank in Ip Man 3 #Ipman3
Mike Tyson stars as Frank in Ip Man 3 #Ipman3 | Source

How Was It?

Growing up, I was never really into superheroes. I didn’t mind the odd Spider-Man movie or even Wonder Woman as a kid. But I never really adored a hero as much as I do with Ip Man.

Perhaps my love for Ip Man is heavily influenced in part by Donny Yen. His gracious portrayal of the character and the tiny cheeky smirk underpins the amazing narrative. Both of these things seem to cause a tiny wave of glee when I see him combat the bad guys. All three films are put together in such a wholesome way. Sure there is plenty of violence, but moreover, the stories part way for lessons in humility, pride and being a hero in your own right.

The choreography is put together so that nearly always the intention is to cause the least harm possible. There are none of the usual oceans of blood pouring out of wounds or over the top gore in any of this trilogy of films. Despite the backdrop of Ip Man's wife becoming terminally ill, these films are generally feel-good films. I must admit though, this one left me feeling a little sad.

If you have watched the previous two films, you will have seen Ip Man's wife's contention. She always maintains her disappointment towards his bachelor-like Wing Chun lifestyle. His moments of glory and achievement are highly admired by her anyway. The love and adoration between the two over the course of the stories are always present, even when times are tough. Ip Man 3 brings this sentiment to the forefront and tells more about this love story all while throwing challenges which directly affect him in some way.

Ip Man is a Rockstar

This film delves right into the rockstar-like prestige audiences were first shown in the original film. People know his name and talk about how famous he is. Others refer to how lucky he is throughout the story-telling of this segment in the franchise.

Seeing Mike Tyson did nothing to excite me here. Even though he is famed for many an action film, his performance leaves much to be desired. Tyson definitely looks the part though and, paves the way once again for a boxing vs martial arts epic fight scene. The match between Ip Man and Tyson as seen in this is by far my favorite out of all three films.

The central fight is between a rival group led by Frank. Frank wants to occupy the land where the current school sits. He enlists the assistance of a large group of thugs who begin their endeavor by beating up the headmaster. Wherever fights are won or lost Ip Man acquired additional allies and with it comes new enemies looking to knock him off his perch.

Final Thoughts

What I loved about this film is we see Ip Man as the protector. He protects his wife, his child, and others directly here and the scenes supporting this are done with finesse and a good dose of tension.

I do have to warn you because, oh gosh, the lump in my throat grew bigger at the sight of Ip Man finally learning to dance for his wife. For the first over the course of the films, his wife shines in first-place. She is more important than stature or his respectful standing in the community. Here, her residence as a second fiddle is thrown to the curb. What was saddest is, that like most grand gestures, his too is one that was too little, too late.

I give Ip Man III 3.5 Wing Chun's out of 5

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Ip Man 4Master Z: Ip Man Legacy
Ip Man 4
Ip Man 4 | Source
Master Z: Ip Man Legacy
Master Z: Ip Man Legacy | Source

Is This the End of the Trilogy?

Ip Man 4

Although this film was supposed to be the end of the trilogy, two more films will be released. One is the fourth installment— Ip Man 4. Ip Man 4 comes out early in 2019. This film will not only star Donny Yen once again but also Scott Adkins so I'm extremely excited about this one.

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy

There is also a special legacy film picking up where the third film ends and splicing off into a story about Tin Chi. It has just completed and is called Master Z: Ip Man Legacy. Premiering at the Busan Film Festival in October the wide release will be available in December 2018.

Master Z will star Dave Baustista and Tony Jaa so plenty to be excited about there too.

Trailer for Master Z: Ip Man Legacy

Questions & Answers

    © 2018 Mother of Movies and Series Reviews

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment
      • NessMovieReviews profile imageAUTHOR

        Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 

        16 months ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

        Thanks very much! I appreciate that.

        I’m really looking forward to seeing Ip Man 4 and Master Z as well.

        Such great films. Donny Yen is king

      • aziza786 profile image

        Zia Uddin 

        16 months ago from UK

        I can't believe I haven't seen this 3rd movie yet. I'm a big fan of martial art movies. Thanks for reminding me to watch IP Man 3. Great review by the way, thanks for sharing.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, reelrundown.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
      ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)