'Ant Man and the Wasp' Review (2018) Marvel's Best Effort!

Updated on July 25, 2018
Leland Johnson profile image

Leland is a movie lover from way back! He offers tasteful critiques and original insights to help you make an informed viewing decision.

Cast of Ant Man and the Wasp

 
 
Ant Man/Scott Lang
Paul Rudd
Ant Man Original/Dr. Hank Pym
Michael Douglas
The Wasp/Hope Vandyne
Evangeline Lily
Luis
Michael Pena
Sonny Burch
Walton Goggins
Ghost
Hannah John-Kamen
The Wasp Original/ Dr. Janet Vandyne
Michelle Pfeiffer
Dr. Bill Foster
Laurence Fishburne
Cassie Lang
Abby Ryder Forston

A Movie That's Difficult to Criticize

I know why film critics seem to be such negative people, nit picking and complaining about movies the rest of us think were pretty good. It's because the more movies you watch, the more of a movie lover you are, the easier it is to find the flaws. So many movies have trends that make them predictable. The MCU is certainly guilty of this, but it's big names, big stunts, and super CGI have effectively covered it's cliché pimples, blemishes, and flaws. But every once in a while a movie comes along that seems impossible to pick apart; a movie that is as close to flawless as you can get. Ant Man and the Wasp is one such movie.

Comic Book Version of Ant Man and Wasp

The Magic Behind This Movie: WARNING! SPOILER ALERT!

There were 4 things that made this movie great, and yes, it really is a great movie. They're aren't many of them out there, but this one qualifies. There's really only one way to tell if a movie is truly great: It has to keep you riveted to your seat throughout. You have to dread getting up for a popcorn refill or a potty-break. I've never experienced those elements at a mediocre flick.

THE MAGIC

  1. CASTING: Obvious praise goes to the star, the fantastic Paull Rudd, but this movie could not have been as good as it was without Michael Pena', Michael Douglass, and everyone else- yes even the villains were great. All the right people were in all the right seats.
  2. HUMOR: Don't you hate it when a movie takes itself too seriously? Yet, it's also bad when it's hokey. A&W finds the perfect balance so that you find yourself laughing as much as gasping.
  3. PLOT: I loved that there is finally a movie with superheroes that ISN'T about saving the world or universe from aliens. I'm tired of aliens. This is about saving a mom. Can you believe it?
  4. UNPREDICTABLE: There are so many twists, turns, and surprises that you don't want to look away, not even for a moment. There's humor in this film that is obvious, subtle, in your face, and then there is humor you have to look for in the physical realm- facial expressions, etc. You Will laugh and you WILL be surprised.

Plot: WARNING: Spoilers Ahead

This movie is too good and I want so badly for you to see it for yourself that I promise not to reveal any major details in the plot description.

You may recall from Ant Man 1, Lang was forced to go "sub atomic" into the so called "quantum realm." Hank Pym, designer of the Ant Man technology shared with Lang that going into that realm would most likely mean never coming back, in fact dying there. Now, in the Ant Man sequel, we find Pym to have been at work hypothesizing and theorizing his way into the possibility of entering the Quantum realm because he believes his wife, Janet, the original Wasp, may still be there- alive! He enlists Lang's help even though he's angry with him for taking the Ant Man suit to help Captain America at that airport in Germany 2 years ago. (remember that from Captain America: Civil War?)

That's pretty much why this Ant Man movie is alien free. It's more about the bad guys trying to get Pym's tech than saving the universe.

Official Trailer

My Rating

5 stars for Ant Man and the Wasp

Conclusion and Recommendation

This movie is a must see, even if you're not a superhero flick fan. The action/fighting sequences are the best I've seen in any other film. From beginning to end this movie is fun, fast, and entertaining, even touching when you least expect it.

You've got to stay through the final credits for the traditional MCU post movie scenes. They're important.

By the way, even the ending credits are cool. As the usual names and titles of actors, grips, music, etc. are scrolling by, in the background plastic still models are arranged to show different action scenes of the movie. It's amazing. Never seen anything like it. This movie has the best "outro" out there. When's the last time you were at a theater where the audience actually applauded at the end? It usually seems awkward to applaud when the actors can't hear you. This one was so good you'll feel awkward if you don't applaud.

See this movie! You won't be disappointed.

Cudo's to MCU, Rudd and company for knocking it out of the park!

Questions & Answers

    © 2018 Leland Johnson

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Leland Johnson profile imageAUTHOR

        Leland Johnson 

        4 months ago from Midland MI

        Thanks Ms.Dora and congratulations on 1 million views! That's a tremendous accomplishment! (I think there was a 5th fact also?)

      • MsDora profile image

        Dora Weithers 

        4 months ago from The Caribbean

        Thanks for the review. Based on the four positive facts you mentioned, I'd like to see it.

      • Leland Johnson profile imageAUTHOR

        Leland Johnson 

        5 months ago from Midland MI

        Linda- if you go to see it and DON'T like it, I will personally refund your money! I'm that confident you'll enjoy this movie.

      • Leland Johnson profile imageAUTHOR

        Leland Johnson 

        5 months ago from Midland MI

        Louise- thanks for reading and commenting. It was super!

      • Leland Johnson profile imageAUTHOR

        Leland Johnson 

        5 months ago from Midland MI

        John- I liked the first one too, and liked this one even better. Very rare to like the sequel better than the first. Thank you.

      • Leland Johnson profile imageAUTHOR

        Leland Johnson 

        5 months ago from Midland MI

        It definitely is! Thanks for reading and commenting.

      • Leland Johnson profile imageAUTHOR

        Leland Johnson 

        5 months ago from Midland MI

        applause in a theater is definitely rare- it was appropriate here, for sure :0

      • Jodah profile image

        John Hansen 

        5 months ago from Queensland Australia

        Only a few days ago I heard it said that this was probably the best superhero film ever, certainly the best from Marvel. Your review has confirmed that. I saw AntMan One and loved it, so can't wait to watch this as well. Thanks for the great review.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        5 months ago from USA

        Between the audience applauding and your 5 star review, this seems like the movie to see!

      • Peggy W profile image

        Peggy Woods 

        5 months ago from Houston, Texas

        Thanks for your review of a movie that I have not heard of nor seen. I don't ever remember being in a movie theater when the audience clapped at the end. That is really saying something!

      • AliciaC profile image

        Linda Crampton 

        5 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

        It may sound strange, but I've never heard of this film. It sounds like one that I'd like to see, especially since you've given it such a glowing review. I'll look out for it.

      • Coffeequeeen profile image

        Louise Powles 

        5 months ago from Norfolk, England

        Thanks for the review, it sounds like a good film. =)

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, reelrundown.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://reelrundown.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)