A Far Away Review of 'Star Wars Episode III'

Updated on April 3, 2019
Guckenberger profile image

Alexander is a lifelong viewer of videos and media pertaining to the Stars Wars, Doctor Who, Star Trek, and additional movie franchises.

Source

So this is how liberty dies... with thunderous applause.

— Padm√© Amidala, 'Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith'

My Initial Thoughts

Going into this film, my hopes weren't entirely high. I even put off viewing it until last year! Whatever it was that made the original trilogy so magical seemed to be diminishing slowly and painfully. Such thoughts were mine after watching episode II multiple times through. Of course, some people don't like episode VI, and that's my favorite episode thus far. We are all entitled to our own opinions. I didn't know exactly what to expect when I first viewed this popular movie. However, I went in and was not disappointed.

Source

Is It Good?

The movie is, in fact, fantastic! I would surely state that it is good. I loved it! The third episode really helps to tie in the first two episodes. I did not expect this, nor see it coming it would seem. What I wrote about the first two prequels is made up for by the third! I still believe that far less purely computer animated graphics could have been applied in place for more practical effects. Still, this film will give you chills! The movie is deserving of at least some praise.

You were the chosen one! It was said that you would destroy the Sith, not join them! Bring balance to the force, not leave it in darkness! You were my brother Anakin! I loved you!

— Obi-Wan Kenobi, 'Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith'

The Acting

Ian McDiarmid's acting is very notable. Sheev Palpatine is easily one of the most noticeable characters in the 'Star Wars' franchise. He is one of my favorites, despite his evil personality. Emperor Palpatine is, to me, the only truly evil person in the 'Star Wars' universe thus far presented. Moreover, I very much enjoyed watching Ewan McGregor's Obi-Wan Kenobi in this particular episode. I was skeptical about McGregor's abilities to play the beloved Obi-Wan. I grew up on the original films, and Obi-Wan left big shoes to fill. However, Ewan really delivered here! As a side note, Ewan McGregor did some voice acting for Obin-Wan in episode VII as well! I have very mixed feelings about Hayden Christensen, although I definitely still liked him in this film. I am not completely sure if I am not satisfied with his acting, or if I am taken aback by the sad character he is forced to portray. A part of me is in love with his portrayal, and a piece of me is not on board with it, one might say. Either way, the acting overall was fantastic!

Source

The Graphics

As I have already mentioned, I think that the special effects could have been handled differently. I am fairly certain that I am far from the first person to put this complaint in writing. Still, the visuals are fascinating. I liked them much more than I initially suspected that I would. There are scenes that are entertaining to the occipital senses. The wookie battle was a fun scene to watch, and all of the fighting that including Obi-wan was awesome. George Lucas has a very interesting and vast imagination.

The Writing

The writing was great. This is a very quotable film. Of course, that has become something of a standard for Star Wars films. Of all of the prequels, however, this movie is definitely done right. There was a time that I didn't think that I would write such a thing myself. I give this movie's writing five stars! There are some lines that do make me pause. Regardless, the writing as a whole is noteworthy.

Episode III Official Trailer

What Are My Final Thoughts?

The film was amazing. Where the episode lacked in one area, it made up for that lack with greater strength in another place. I completely loved it, which did at first surprise me. I give it 5/5 stars and recommend the film to anyone who enjoys science fiction entertainment. George Lucas did very good.

You fool! I've been trained in your Jedi arts by Count Dooku.

— General Grievous, 'Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith'

'Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith'

5 stars for 'Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith'

Questions & Answers

    © 2019 Alexander James Guckenberger

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment
      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        2 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Dianna Mendez, thank you. 'Star Wars' is something that me and my Mom love.

      • teaches12345 profile image

        Dianna Mendez 

        2 weeks ago

        I have seen all the Star Wars movies and enjoyed each one. McGregor's role is played well and he does add to the quality of the series. Good feedback on this film.

      • Miebakagh57 profile image

        Miebakagh Fiberesima 

        4 weeks ago from Port Harcourt, Rivers State, NIGERIA.

        Hi, Alex, it's okay.

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

        I appreciate you too my friend.

      • Miebakagh57 profile image

        Miebakagh Fiberesima 

        4 weeks ago from Port Harcourt, Rivers State, NIGERIA.

        Hi, Guckenberger, I appreciated you, and thanks.

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Miebakagh, enjoy your day too bud. :)

      • Miebakagh57 profile image

        Miebakagh Fiberesima 

        4 weeks ago from Port Harcourt, Rivers State, NIGERIA.

        Hi, Alexander, thanks for sharing, and enjoy the day.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, reelrundown.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://reelrundown.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)