Review: Why Hey Arnold! The Jungle Movie Was Awful

Updated on November 28, 2017
Melissa A Smith profile image

Melissa has a hate/love affair with Disney and other animated movies and television shows.

Before I attempt to expound on why I believe the latest and perhaps last Hey Arnold production was an objectively tragic failure, it’s important that I illustrate just what I found so wonderful about the original series (mainly seasons 1-3). Hey Arnold! is a type of show that has become an endangered species in today’s children’s entertainment—a series that primarily deals with unextraordinary yet highly identifiable childhood situations.

I have three favorite episodes; “Snow” deals with Arnold longing to join his friends playing in the powdery wonderland while his grandpa forces him to do chores, and the atmosphere along with Jim Lang’s soulful score effectively communicates the magic of snow days through a young person’s perspective (The wonderful Do The Right Thing-inspired “Heat” precedes the episode).

Operation Ruthless” is a winner if only for the highly emotive last scene where Helga longingly watches Arnold, Phoebe and Gerald exit the fair, leaving her feeling alone while the festival lights shut down—again—accompanied by a glorious score that I believe, as a contemporary jazz lover, should really should be made into full length songs. The scene also effectively communicates Helga's tragic obsession but inability to express how she really feels, leaving her stuck in a loop of love and hatred.

My all-time favorite episode is probably “Arnold’s Thanksgiving”. It is far better than the melodramatic “Arnold’s Christmas” (although I like this one too, as the atmosphere is on point) that explores themes of how holiday idealism can overwhelm and disappoint, yet both adults and young people can still learn to be ‘thankful’ amidst it all.

The show’s great qualities are enhanced by its unique urban setting. There is an astounding amount of detail put into the design of the city; buildings and sidewalks are weathered and peppered with litter while the shops are charmingly named. Sometimes the art reminds me of the painted backgrounds of a Studio Ghibli film.

Jumping the shark

I may perhaps be biased in my love for the jazzy soundtrack, as I grew up with smooth jazz and that influence only served to enhance the nostalgia. Yet it was an undeniably great addition to the show and gave it a timeless quality. Like Doug, the show also had a level of quirkiness, but it was never overbearing as to compromise the ‘real’ feeling. The relationships in the show were also realistic and reminded me of some of my own experiences. The family conflicts within the Pataki family are notably well done.

Therefore, one can now start to understand why I found The Jungle Movie’s plot to be just plain dumb and a pathetic example of jumping the shark.

'The Jungle Movie' lacks maturity, despite onscreen deaths

Of course, gone are all the qualities I described above. Sure, the characters are all there, and some with their original voice actors which was pretty neat. But without the qualities that I found so compelling in Hey Arnold’s first, second and third season, what exactly is the point? The Jungle Movie’s plot is more reminiscent of Indian Jones or The Mummy movies from the 90’s. Overtly silly, with mustache-twirling villains and violent (yes, this movie features relatively graphic depictions of ‘bad guys’ being killed) adventures that are better suited for live action PG-13 films starring Bredan Fraser or Harrison Ford…not our grounded characters.

Arnold is ‘the chosen one’ silliness

I absolutely hated the episodes of Hey Arnold! discussing his lost parents. It was evident and obvious that their story was merely tacked on later in the show to ‘answer questions’, and then they took the ball and ran with it, transitioning Arnold from an ‘every day hero’ to ‘The One Born of a Volcano’.

And that’s what The Jungle Movie does; answers pointless questions that do not enhance the series’ environment or story an ounce. Arnold had absentee parents simply because the creators correctly thought the perspective of a non-traditional family would be unique and interesting. His parents were never meant to be the foundation of Arnold’s personality or his value as a well-written character…in fact the show was never meant to be about Arnold being special but more of a slice of his low-key life.

To add insult to injury, his parents, in contrast to the show’s main characters, are presented as utterly boring and ‘perfect’ in the flashbacks and they look like movie stars. It’s what I like to call ‘perfect dead parent syndrome’—Arnold’s parents join Chuckie Finsters’s mom and Carl’s wife from Up as looking conventionally attractive even when the character designs of the other living/non-missing characters are artistically exaggerated and do not match up.

SPOILERS in this paragraph- Arnold's parent mystery

Then, The Jungle Movie did something that I didn’t think was possible—those forcibly-conceived parents, who were indeed found to be alive at the end of the movie (another awful choice), were made to be even more personality-less and wooden, with cringe-inducing dialogue and a strange Stepford wife quality to their voices and presence. They seem completely unphased that they’ve awoken 10 years later to find their son standing there, having rescued them, like they are aware they are just a part of the movie’s blueprint.

That was supposed to be the big payoff. Also, the inevitable pairing of Arnold and Helga, as our ‘shipping’ culture demands, was also awkward and uneventful due to the fact that the characters were devoid of their personalities that had created the anticipation of the big reveal. It was done so much better in Hey Arnold! The Movie before Arnold unsurprisingly lost his memory of Helga’s confession. Another ‘question’ answered is that of Arnold’s last name (which was already known if you’ve Googled it), yet another empty gimmick.

Conclusion

The Jungle Movie was all EVENTS over substance. The laughs were also few and far between. The pacing was rushed. Jim Lang returned and provided an adequate score and the animation was expectedly the wretched but affordable flash animation. There is a level of strangeness present in the movie, such as a scene where Eugene blows up like a balloon. These ‘Looney Toon’ physics were not originally present in the show. And then, Abner the pig takes a plane ride with a snake for ‘some reason’. This was mildly amusing, but belonged in a different show.

All in all, I consider Hey Arnold!: The Jungle Movie to not only fail as a continuation (or perhaps a finale) to Hey Arnold!, but also simply as a standalone TV movie, not even providing a reprieve to the influx of kid’s shows that only seem to star ‘non-regular’ kids in adult situations.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Dena 

        7 weeks ago

        Or maybe HA! would have worked better as a teen drama or for a more growed up audience

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        2 months ago from New York

        Freit Train Excellent points and well-written. Many Hey Arnold episodes had bittersweet endings, like Helga and the Nanny. The Jungle Movie took characters that certainly didn't feel like themselves and spoon-fed the viewers a happy ending. Bringing Arnold's parents back from the 'dead' was especially troubling, but inevitable because of that dumb episode where he found a map at the end. How anyone can get closure from a movie that doesn't even feel like Hey Arnold and these empty, dishonest 'answers' is beyond me.

      • profile image

        Freit Train 

        2 months ago

        It's very refreshing to read a review so inline with my own sentiments. Real life is not about easy answers, it is usually through difficult trials that we come to understand the best parts of ourselves. The original series understood this, and so the thematic focus was often on silver linings. Pigeon man's home is destroyed, but he learns to trust; Helga goes on a horrible road trip, but gets to know her Mother. I feel cathartic when flawed character's accept their failures. The jungle movie has no failures, all actions lead to the best possible outcomes, Helga's unrequited love is matched, an Orphan's parents come back from the dead, as fan's, we even get Arnold's last name. All questions are answered, all bows are tied: this is not the spirit of the old show. With the show, as in life, you cannot always undo a wrong; Helga frames her Nanny for theft, and she loses her job; nor can you exchange the cards you are dealt, like having no parents, sometimes you just end up all alone at the end of the cheese fair. That's how life goes; however, despite many miseries, that doesn't mean that you can't work out a tie like Steely Phil at Checkers, or that you can't be grateful for what little you have, like Mr Simmons on thanksgiving. Unfortunately, the films in no way reflects the things which made the original show great. However, I will always take the opportunity to spend a bit of time with some very old friends, even if it is disappointing. Just remember this: "You Gotta look up, you gotta be strong, you gotta take things as they come, Cause everything new that happens to you is better when you - look up!"

      • profile image

        FootballHead 

        2 months ago

        I guess I'm just a CinemaWins instead of a CinemaSins kind of person. Thanks for the read.

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        2 months ago from New York

        FootballHead The key thing you're missing is that they don't like what I'm saying about this movie. If I called someone a simpleton in DEFENSE of it they would love it. It really is that simple. And then they think I should accept their insults and not retaliate, but that's not happening here. Furthermore I've been critiquing kids movies since I was a kid. If it were immune to criticism it should also be immune to praise.

      • profile image

        FootballHead 

        2 months ago

        The movie was good in my opinion and I felt it could have been so much more. I wish I had seen it when I was a kid. Then maybe it wouldn’t bother me so much. Growing up has its cons and to the point where people will have to try and make sense of a children’s movie. If I was a kid I would have just watched the movie and accepted it and be happy.

        You do point out some good points though. But I feel like the reason why you’re having so much hatred in the comment section is because of your comments to others calling them “simpletons” and having “small brains” for liking the movie. I feel that it’s totally uncalled for.

        At least all my questions about the series have been answered. I can finally get some closure.

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        2 months ago from New York

        TheFirstDarkTemplar Wait, you're having a temper tantrum because I approve comments? That's a default option on this site, but a good one, because people often write abusive personal attacks such as yours and those which I responded to but of course you're too simple to recognize the wrong-doings of someone you happen to agree with. My review, filled with detail on my opinion, to you is just 'hate for the sake of hating' because you can't muster up a defense. So you just call me names and 'lolz', Mr. Mature, Mr. Character who isn't lashing out at me at all. It's all me who's doing everything wrong in your small brain. I'm wrong for having nostalgia, even though this movie is entirely meant to be a continuation of the series. No wonder you liked this movie. It is actually awful in every conceivable way.

      • profile image

        AdunTheFirstTemplar 

        2 months ago

        Oh wow, comment approval, yep this confirms the author's immaturity. Yikes.

        "Your pathetic rant." Lmao yikes, the only pathetic rant here is your review. But lash out at people that disagree with you (or just block comments).

        Really lack of character here. ;-)

      • profile image

        Anthony 

        3 months ago

        Absolutely not the jungle movie a great movie I mean imagine someone loses their parents

        And I’m not trying to be mean

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        3 months ago from New York

        Right? I don't know if I mentioned it in this article, but he was a completely different person. Maybe that could have been Arnold when he was 5, but that's it. He wasn't the collected, mature, wise character that the show's foundation was built on AT ALL, which makes no sense. I'm surprised you found something to like when the main character wasn't there.

      • profile image

        Kayla 

        3 months ago

        So I did enjoy the movie but I agree with some of the points here. Arnold's personality was almost completely different here than in the episodes. First thing I noticed. He speech was faster and his wording was different. And from what I remember of the episodes, Arnold had a very calm personality most of the time. Not true for this movie. Also i thought at the end, his parents were completely devoid of personality and acted like they were in a fog, following Arnold around and seemingly not aware of anything about school even though they were only asleep 9 years. I thought it was a little weird. And i would have liked the ending with Helga more if Arnold had been more of his original personality, though I did like that Arnold was trying to hold hands with her at school. I did enjoy the movie but those were a few of the things I noticed right off the bat.

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        9 months ago from New York

        Eva, those aren't Loony Toons physics, they are just 'suspend your disbelief' moments that make cartoons work. Loony Toons physics involves characters being 'stretched' or doing cartoonishly impossible things. Things like falling through the roof without injury happen in action movies and it's meant to 'feel' real. The pigeon man scene is not meant to be silly at all. Rocko's Modern Life, Angry Beavers, and Ren and Stimpy regularly uses the cartooniess I'm talking about; things like characters getting smashing and changing their shape. That's not supposed to be realistic. Hey Arnold is supposed to feel real; it even caught me off guard when Ms. Slovak ran out of the classroom impossibly fast in "Spelling Bee" after failing to tell the kids about asbestos tests. But whatever, I'm honest to goodness shocked anyone could like this movie, but that's not why I attacked people. I don't know if you can see their comments but they lashed out at me.

      • profile image

        Eva 

        9 months ago

        I was a fan of the original series for all of the reasons you detailed - its realism, simple charm, and emotional authenticity - and I understand the points you made. Probably most especially your comment about “the chosen one” theme being a bit silly and over the top.

        That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes, it was more melodramatic and events-focused than any of the episodes, but it was done that way because it was meant to answer specific questions about the characters and their stories. Sure, the plot felt contrived in places, but to me, that just wasn’t as important as the emotional impact of Arnold finally reuniting with his parents and Helga getting her well-deserved kiss. Of course, his parents’ scenes at the end didn’t reveal much about their emotional ordeal, but you can’t very well end a movie with Stella & Miles beginning to talk out their post-tramautic stress disorder. Also, your point about “Looney Tune” physics not being a part of the original show - that’s simply not true. I can remember at least a handful of cartoon-logic situations from the series, including Helga once inexplicably crashing her way through a ceiling with no physical repercussions. Heck, one of the earliest episodes had Pigeon Man attach himself to a flock of birds and fly off into the sunset - if that’s not aerodynamically impossible, I’m not sure what is!

        What really bothers me about this review (& particularly your comments below) isn’t the fact that you disliked the movie. It’s your level of seemingly hostile condescension towards those who disagree with your opinion. No, there is nothing “objective” about the statement that this movie is awful, just Iike there is nothing objective about my feeling that it’s wonderful. Like... seriously girl, you’re allowed to hate or love whatever you want, and you’re clearly an incredibly smart person with strong opinions and vibrant writing abilities. But don’t insinuate that people who *did* like the movie are somehow missing brain cells... people are just different. We have tastes for different things. That’s all. :)

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        11 months ago from New York

        The root of your pathetic rant is that I shouldn't criticize this movie because it was supposedly aimed at children...even though it has only aired on and after midnight...and I'm the idiot? They made very little effort, if any, to appeal to people who haven't seen Hey Arnold. The fans of the show are in their late 20s. You couldn't even muster the realization that I have enjoyed and applauded several episodes in this very article, regardless of which age group you think it was aimed at, and I'm simply holding the movie and other episodes to that standard.

        As for the Christmas episode, I find it 'impossible' that a 9 year old was able to achieve what heartbroken Mr. Hyunh couldn't do in at least several years on Christmas Eve. That his daughter would remain in the city that the solider called out and he still couldn't find her. That he moved to the city to find her without considering perhaps after 20 years she could have left. That they were able to find her with the name Mai Hyunh despite that name never being given to the soldier. I could go on and on. It's melodramatic because it was forced relative to the rest of the show, for dramatic effect, and it wasn't even well thought-out. Just because it's Christmas doesn't mean it needs to have an 'important' story.

        The flashbacks weren't meant to be inaccurate, not when the story was told for real and featured Arnold's grandparents and Abner.

        Stay angry. I have another article criticizing a few more episodes of Hey Arnold that I've been dragging my feet finishing, you've prompted me to put it up due to your idiocy.

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        11 months ago from New York

        Lish you're hardly a fan of the show if you love a movie that doesn't resemble it in any way. It's VERY telling that people who've never seen the show like it. Furthermore it's pathetic that you can't even tolerate me having an opinion and claim I'm just lying for attention or something. What a narrow-minded little simpleton.

      • Melissa A Smith profile imageAUTHOR

        Melissa A Smith 

        11 months ago from New York

        Thanks Charles! It boggles my mind how many people like this...have they seen Hey Arnold or maybe they just saw the last significantly inferior seasons? You're right, despite Arnold being the chosen one Helga did everything and even had her picture frame magically fit in the crevice. I know they were going for a 'true love conquers all' kind of thing there...pretty cheesy. Hey Arnold is not a fairy tale or fantasy. The theatrical movie was so much better for being about more real concepts.

      • profile image

        Charles 

        12 months ago

        I'm glad I'm not the only one that thinks this. I was excited to see the movie finally come out, and had just seen Thor: Ragnarok the night the Jungle Movie premiered. Let's just say that Marvel had another slam dunk and utterly dominated this tv movie.

        You address a lot of what I had problems with the movie, from the Green Eyes to Arnold's parents. I had more problems with it though, like how Helga was suddenly retconned into having stalked and taped ALL OF ARNOLD'S GOOD DEEDS, just for a movie (which was rigged by La Sombra anyway, as I bet the failed Monkey Man house video would have been "unanimous" too).

        Hell, Helga was the true MVP of the movie, for while Arnold had the mystic spyglass that glows only when he's around (which was never explained why), she basically carried him all the way to the finish, and was the real person to cure the sleeping sickness. All that worshipping and mural painting was for naught.

        It boggles my mind that there are people praising this as a GOOD movie when it's mediocre at best. Passable, but it really conflicts to the original series when you think about it. I predict that there's nostalgia blindness going on, because while I liked Hey Arnold as a kid (barring some scenes and characters like that deadbeat Oscar) this movie didn't feel like a true Hey Arnold experience. The so called bombed movie with the neighbor at risk of being bulldozed? THAT had more life and style in it as Arnold was just a normal 9 year old trying to save the day only a kid in his position could do; peaceful protest and optimism. That optimism where he kept looking on the bright side because "somebody had to" was an important point. And even when it got weird, it was still sensible that he and Gerald were forced to use espionage. In "The Jungle Movie", he was given a magic spyglass because "chosen one silliness" as you put it. And it was so STUPID.

        So thanks for this review.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, reelrundown.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://reelrundown.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)